“Kathmandu School of Law” became the first law college to receive the Quality and Assurance Accreditation (QAA) certificate


Kathmandu School of Law (KSL) has become the first law college in Nepal to receive quality assurance and accreditation (Quality Assurance Agency – QAA). Quality Assurance and Accreditation Certificate has been provided by the University Grants Commission of Nepal. On Sunday 26th of June, the University Grants Commission organized a program and awarded the certificate to Kathmandu School of Law.

The University Grants Commission measures the quality of higher educational institutions in Nepal and conducts accreditation through quality assurance and accreditation. The National Education Policy, 2076 has adopted a policy to take higher educational institutions to the process of quality assurance and accreditation. Quality assurance and accreditation is the process of determining the quality of higher educational institutions. This means that the educational institutions to be accredited are of quality and international level.

Quality Assurance or Quality Control are terms associated with the production and service of goods. Since the 1990s, with globalization and liberalization activities, there has been a great change in higher education, and the issue of quality measurement has started to arise.

In Nepal, the University Commission evaluates the educational quality, physical infrastructure, library, research, student passing ratio, institutional governance, and other subjects of the related educational institution by a team consisting of native and foreign professors. It is recommended to be accredited and provided only after the decision of the Quality Assurance and Accreditation Council.

Although about 1500 higher educational institutions are currently operating in Nepal, only 63 higher educational institutions have been accredited by the University Grants Commission in Nepal so far. Among them, Kathmandu School of Law has succeeded in becoming the first college to be accredited among the higher education institutions that provide legal education in Nepal.

Kathmandu School of Law first started a 5-year legal education program in 1999, a Bhaktpur-located law college affiliated with the Purbanchal Univesity. Kathmandu School of Law currently offers a 5-year B.A.L.L.B. And 2 years L.L.M., 1 year M.A. programs as well as various other national and international programs are also being conducted under the postgraduate level.

Standards of QAA

The University Grants Commission provides the QAA certificate to the higher educational institutions that want to go through the process of Quality Assurance Agency based on the following 8 criteria.
1) Policy and Procedures
2) Curricular Aspects
3) Teaching Learning and Evaluation System
4) Research, Counseling, and Extension
5) Infrastructure and Learning Resources
6) Student Support and Consultancy
7) Information System
8) Public Information

International practice

The debate on measuring and ensuring quality in higher education has been started since the 1990s. It seems that it started in the year 1991 from the common organization of European universities called the International Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education (INQAAHE) in the world. Then it spread to various European as well as Western countries.

The Quality Assurance Program (QAP) established by the Australian government in 1992 can be considered one. Similarly, the Korean Council for University Education (KCUE) in Korea in 1994 and the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) under the University Grants Commission in India, and the Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) of the UK government since 1997 strictly maintain the quality of higher education in those countries. Has taken the initiative.

Check Also

Domestic Violence & its preventive Laws in Nepal

Devendra Puodel Introduction: – Domestic violence is one of the major forms of violence against …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *